02
Mar
11

The Path to Publication

The path to publication with Relic Defender: Key of Solomon was a long and, at times, frustrating path. Certainly a path that taught me patience, but more than that, faith in this story and learning to believe in myself as a writer.

Relic Defender is not my first book. Not the first one published nor the first one I wrote (that one is still around but hidden deep behind the darkest shadows of my bed – for now). It’s actually my third written and second published. In 2007, New Concepts Publishing published a futuristic romance. The book did okay, gorgeous cover and all and was my first foray to the world of epublishing. Now, it’s back to me and I’m trying to decide what to do with it.

But back to Relic Defender. The fact it’s a third book doesn’t mean it holds any less of an important place in my heart. You see, in early 2010 I actually gave up on this story. For two years, I’d shopped it and garnered a lot of rejections on this story alone. I won’t tell you how many – trust me when I say it was a lot. The rejections came in with a common theme – interesting premise, obviously a good writer, “I just didn’t love it enough.” Six words that still cause shudders to run up my spine. I get why this is used, honestly, I do. Doesn’t make it any easier to read because there has to be something the reader didn’t like.

Finally, after enough of that, I made a very painful decision to put this book aside. I didn’t know what I needed to do to fix whatever was wrong. When I say, I put this book aside, I mean aside. I yanked everything related to this story off my hard-drive, purged my desk file folders and more. Why? Because it hurt too much to keep seeing this story every time I opened a drawer or my work-in-progress folder. But it wasn’t enough to move the online files. They had to get off my system so I couldn’t even accidentally see it. It was a dark time for me.

Still, no matter how hard I tried, I couldn’t let go of Lexi and Mikos. I believed in them, their story and most of all, I believed in myself as a writer. Besides, I had two fulls out there and even though I hadn’t heard from the agent or editor for over six months, they still hadn’t said no. That was enough for me. With a tiny piece of hope still burning in my heart and the conviction that THIS story was worth publishing, I contacted the editor and agent.

One of them, Bethany Morgan of Samhain, replied that she hadn’t received it, but still wanted to see it. Imagine the feeling of relief. She hadn’t rejected it; she simply never received it. That worked. I immediately sent it off. I also heard from the agent who had it, but hadn’t read it. While Bethany had it, the agent gave me a lovely rejection.

A couple of months later, I got an email from Bethany who told me she loved it and asked if it was still available. After I got my heart beating again, I replied, of course, it was! The rest, as they say is history and yesterday, March 1, saw the release of a book I had all but given up on it finding a home.

This isn’t so much a tale of publishing as it is a tale of not giving up. And of believing in yourself. Sure, I get that there are books who may never get published, and maybe they shouldn’t be; however, the one thing I can say with certainty is to trust your heart. But be honest. You’ll know.

Even though I was ready, and actually did, pack Relic Defender away, I still had enough hope, determination and belief to see this book published  and shared with others that I gave it one more shot and guess what? It paid off. It can pay off for you too. Have faith, trust your gut and keep believing in yourself. It can happen for you too.

23 Responses to “The Path to Publication”


  1. 1 JJ
    March 2, 2011 at 11:38 am

    Morning! Just wanted to stop by and say hi. Thank you for posting your path to publication, it was very interesting. Can’t wait to see what you write the rest of the week 🙂

  2. March 2, 2011 at 12:36 pm

    Cassiel; great story, and even though I’ve heard it before, it always gives me that boost I need to keep submitting, keep getting rejections … that magic number is out there, just waiting for me to hit it :-). The picture you picked is perfect. I have BELIEVE on my computer, because it’s so hard to believe in yourself in the face of many, many rejections. Congrats on your second book launch! Hugs!!

    Darla Luke

    • March 2, 2011 at 4:21 pm

      Darla, you are right – it is very hard to keep believing in the face of rejection. Even telling myself they aren’t rejecting me, just my story, doesn’t always help. Of course, at times, I got annoyed by the rejections and that made me even more determined to submit – which I did.

  3. 5 Cid
    March 2, 2011 at 1:17 pm

    Yea! That’s a great story. I know what you mean about hiding the first story under your bed! I think mine’s buried in my closet – shhhhh!

  4. 7 Vonnie Alto
    March 2, 2011 at 1:25 pm

    Kim–I would add that your path to publication is all about courage. You summoned the courage to continue to pursue your dream. You did the right thing in following up on your submission to the editor/agent. Sometimes doing the right thing is hard but necessary and in your case, oh so rewarding! That surely increases your confidence level to believe in yourself, trust your heart, and continue to pursue your dreams. What an inspiring path for us all!

    • March 2, 2011 at 4:20 pm

      Thanks Vonnie! It is a fine line to walk sometimes for writers – we don’t want to get a bad reputation with an agent/editor by asking (nagging?), still, as we’ve all learned, there are times things get lost in the ether and when I think of what I could have missed by not following up….

  5. 9 Jessie
    March 2, 2011 at 4:28 pm

    I didn’t know your path to publication (well, all of it). Thank you for sharing with us!

  6. 10 Mom
    March 2, 2011 at 4:58 pm

    I haven’t received anything on downloading the ebook. Is it out and has anyone been able to download?

  7. March 2, 2011 at 5:05 pm

    I wondered about that. I checked my account on Samhain and it shows the book is available for download. I thought I was going to get an email. You might want to check your account and I’ll check with their customer service.

  8. March 2, 2011 at 5:10 pm

    Drats! I missed launch day, but CONGRATULATIONS! Happy launch. You are a shining example of determination 🙂 I hope to follow in your footsteps 😀

  9. 15 JESSICA
    March 2, 2011 at 5:33 pm

    Like many others (I’m sure), I am proud of you and very happy that you were persistent in getting your book out there for us to read and enjoy; I know I have so far 🙂

  10. 17 Debby
    March 2, 2011 at 5:33 pm

    I am excited to read the book but have not received my download link yet either. I will check my account! Great story Kim. Glad you never gave up!

  11. 19 JJ
    March 2, 2011 at 6:17 pm

    I never received a link either but if you go onto “My Bookshelf” after logging in on the Samhain website it should be there for download.

  12. March 3, 2011 at 1:58 am

    CONGRATULATIONS, Kim! I’m just now getting here to tell you how delighted I am for you that this book of your heart found the right editor and publisher who loves it like you do!

    (((HUGS)))

    -Genene

  13. 21 Mel from OR
    March 3, 2011 at 2:13 am

    Your post gives me loads of hope in my writing and journey to becoming a published author. Best of luck as you continue on your path and congratulations on your second book release.
    ~Melania

    • March 4, 2011 at 12:59 pm

      Thanks Melanie! It has been quite a road with definite ups and downs but when it’s all you can think about – well, to me, that’s a sign it’s meant to be. Good luck!

  14. March 7, 2014 at 8:22 am

    But over the past few years, IPTV has dwarfed the grade
    of DVD and Cable TV. So far, reactions to the acquisition, as well as towards the announcement in the new business model, are actually
    mixed, but only time will inform whether or not a revamped version from the massively popular peer-to-peer website will probably be as
    successful as its predecessor. The most enjoyable element
    of Revenge from the Fallen is its sheer familiarity.


Leave a Reply

Key of Solomon

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 18 other followers


